Sunday, 22 July 2012

Letterbox Love (#12)

As always, Letterbox Love is a weekly feature that I'm hosting on the blog and basically, the idea came out of a discussion with other UK book bloggers about the need to do a weekly meme with more of a British feel to it.  Therefore, Letterbox Love was born and the logo was lovingly designed by Dark Readers.  Letterbox Love is a way for us to share the books that come through our letterbox, galleys and e books (through our electronic letterbox) and any other bookish goodies that we want to tell you about.  Letterbox Love is intended to showcase upcoming books and build up some excitement for them as well as let you know what is available out there.  It is not about competing with other bloggers or boasting of any kind (c'mon, we're British and we don't do drama!)

Review Books


Now is Good (AKA Before I Die) by Jenny Downham
I've already read and reviewed this as Before I Die.  This version is obviously the movie tie-in book and I will be passing it on to someone who hasn't read it yet. 
 
Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs
This one sounds interesting and is based on Greek Mythology I believe, which is definitely something that interests me.  

Ocean of Secrets (AKA Sea Change) by Aimee Freedman
I have no idea why the title and cover have been changed, perhaps it didn't sell so well in the beginning so it's being relaunched.  I actually think I have the hardcover of this so I'll read, review and pass it on. 

The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver
I don't normally do MG but this is Lauren Oliver so I kinda feel I have to read it (because she is an excellent writer).  It looks cute anyway.

Grace Doll by Jennifer Laurens
This is the new, upcoming novel from Jennifer Laurens.  I was lucky enough to read an early version of this novel and let me tell you that it is very different from a traditional Jennifer Laurens book but equally as good.  

Debutantes by Cora Harrison
Marketed as a "gorgeous historical romance, perfect for fans of Downtown Abbey", this sounds great.  It's set in the 1920's which seems to be all the rage for YA books at the moment and I still can't figure out why! 



Review Books


The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George
This is a book written by a traditionally adult writer, moving into YA.  I've seen a lot of mixed reviews for this and so I will wait to see what my friends and fellow book bloggers think before I have a look at it. 
 
Cavalier Queen by Fiona Mountain
This was unsolicited and is obviously a historical.  Whilst I do enjoy a good historical at times, I'm not sure this is the book for me so will probably be passing this one on.

The Feathered Man by Jeremy De Quidt
This sounds like a strange fantasy book and to be honest, I think I'd like to see a few reviews before I consider whether or not to read it.

Witch Crag by Kate Cann
I don't really know what to say about this book other than comment on the weird title.  It is a YA book, a fantasy I presume and I'm definitely intrigued.  I've seen the finished cover floating around the internet and I like it.


Thank you Publishers!


Books Bought




Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols
I've had this pre-ordered since forever, I mean c'mon, it's a Jennifer Echols book! AND I just happen to have a quote on the back cover which I knew nothing about until recently!!!  I've read this, it's awesome and my review is scheduled for next week, I believe. 
 
 
E-Books 
 
Nine Rules to Break when Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean (Bought)
I've just read this in paperback and absolutely loved it! I decided to buy them for my e reader so I could potentially take them on holiday, they're cheaper on kindle and I hate mass market paperbacks - the size puts me off.  I definitely recommend this historical romance series and my review is coming soon!
 
Ten Ways to be Adored when Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean (Bought)
This is part of the series (see above) and features another one of the main characters which I think is Ralston's brother Nick.
 
Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart by Sarah MacLean (Bought)
This is the final book in the series (see above) and features another one of the main characters which I believe is Juliana, Nick and Ralston's sister.
 
About Last Night by Ruthie Knox (Bought)
This is an adult book that was recommended to me.  It was OK but having the main love interest called Neville was perhaps a mistake.
 
Not the Marrying Kind by Nicola Marsh (Bought)
Another adult book, I thought it sounded interesting and entertaining.  I mean, divorce parties?  I like the idea of a challenging romance.

Seducing Cinderella by Gina L. Maxwell (Bought)
Another adult book, I was interested in the idea of someone getting lessons in seduction to lure the object of their affection but it sounds like the lessons might just spill over into real life. 

Wrong Bed, Right Guy by Katee Robert (Bought)
Another adult book.  Don't worry, I'm still into YA but I'm liking some adult romance reads at the moment.  This book really intrigued me as Elle tries to seduce her boss and climbs into bed with him only to find that the guy who is turning her on, is not him.  Love the idea of it and the hilarity that must ensue. 

Inbetween by Tara A. Fuller (For Review)
This is a YA book and features a reaper who falls in love with a girl.  I do like the sound of it and I LOVE Entangled books!

So, yes I got lots to read this week which is obviously going to take some time!  My next read though is Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas as it comes out in the next two weeks and I'm so intrigued to read it.  I LOVE the cover and I just wish we could have had a hardback with the UK cover as I'm not a huge fan of the US version.  As always, please leave me your links below.

23 comments:

  1. Wow, that's one big haul! Debuantes looks awesome! I can't wait to read it!

    My Letterbox Love!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Only because of all the e-books I can't stop buying LOL. Yeah, I might be in the mood for something like Debutantes soon methinks.

      Delete
  2. From it's blurb, Witch Crag sounds very interesting. Enjoy your reads :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks M and yeah, it's intrigued me for sure!

      Delete
  3. Quite a haul there. "Before I Die" is on my Kindle wish list... amongst the other books that I want to buy.

    Enjoy your reads.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, yes you need to read that although make sure you have tissues to hand as it's a weepy one!

      Delete
  4. Hope you enjoy your books this week hun! I got Such a Rush this week too. I've wanted to read Sweet Venom for such a long time so I'm excited to see it's being published in the UK! Here's My Letterbox Love and my first vlog. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Jess, well done on the Vlog!

      Delete
  5. Great haul, Lynsey! I'm so looking forward to reading The Spindlers! Happy reading!

    First Class Post.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'd never heard of The Spindlers until I got it in the post!

      Delete
  6. I really want to read Sweet Venom and Such a Rush. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great books this week! I got The Feathered man too, really looking forward to it! I hope you enjoy all your books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Raimy, I think it sounds a bit weird but we'll see!

      Delete
  8. Awesome haul! I should be getting Such a Rush soon.
    Happy reading:))

    My STS

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Addie and yes, I'd definitely recommend Such a Rush!

      Delete
  9. Sweet Venom sounds so awesome!! LOve the look of Such a Rush as well. Witch Crag has such a bizarre name, I'm gonna go look it up :P

    Cait x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sometimes I think if a book has a bizarre title, it's a good thing because it immediately grabs your attention and you're not likely to forget it in a hurry!

      Delete
  10. Great haul and some amazing books!! I have Sweet Venom and really need to read it soon. I also need to pick up a copy of Such A Rush.

    Check out my haul

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for commenting and leaving a link Michelle. Yeah, Sweet Venom looks interesting and I can say for sure that Such a Rush was fab!

      Delete
  11. Fab books. got a couple of those myself! Loving this idea of Letterbox Love! Check out our Book Haul

    ReplyDelete
  12. If only my TBR list wasn't so long, I'd be chasing some of those interesting books! My In My Letterbox post is now up, you're all welcome to drop by.
    Happy reading, all :-)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Books in the 1920s are all the rage BECAUSE of Downton. It's so addictive! Well, I liked the 20s anyway, because of the flappers and speakeasies and stuff. Besides, one of my favorite movies is Some Like It Hot!

    ReplyDelete